Speaking with Bots (Part I)

This is my first post on the blog,  I will begin speaking with “Bots” , analizing them, studying their behaviours and their answers. But before I will do that,  it is a good idea to know what is a bot and in this case the type one that I found is a “chatbot” and here is the definition in wikipedia about this programs :

“A chatter robot, chatterbot, chatbot or char is a computer program designed to simulate an intelligent conversation with one or more human users via auditory or textual methods, primarily for engaging in small talk.The primary aim of such simulation has been to fool the user into thinking that the program’s output has been produced by a human (the Turing test). Programs playing this role are sometimes referred to as Artificial Conversational Entities, talk bots or chatterboxes.

In addition, however, chatterbots are often integrated into dialog systems for various practical purposes such as online help, personalised service, or information acquisition. Some chatterbots use sophisticated natural language processing systems, but many simply scan for keywords within the input and pull a reply with the most matching keywords, or the most similar wording pattern, from a textual”.

It is easy to  recognize when you speak with a chatbot but sometimes it can be confused for some of the residents. In other situations, some residents possible may ask to a bot for a date or ask them their email address and most of the time you would get a unreasonable answer!. I was in helfell when I found a more than 3 bots in the main sim each one on different positions, one of them with a funny name and I decided that this will be my first conversation with this bot. I will refer her as “First Bot”:

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: hi hello

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: how are you ?

First Bot: Hi there .  Hi there!

First Bot: Everything is running smoothly.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: what are you doing in here ?

First Bot: I am waiting for my .

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: waiting for your what ?

First Bot: I’ve been waiting for you to chat with me.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: interesting

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: and why you want to chat to me ?

First Bot: My belief system comes from my .

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: it comes from your innerself ?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: your cpu ?

First Bot:   comes from my innerself?

First Bot: Is that a fact.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: well it is a question

First Bot: How about that.  Try asking again in simpler terms.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: that if you are want to chat with me

First Bot: “”  if I am want to chat with you ?  Does that make sense?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: yes it makes sense

First Bot: Alright then.  In what way?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: so one simple question

First Bot: Er.  One what?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: are you a bot ?

First Bot: What made you think so? I am a .

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: interesting

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: and what are you doing in helfell ?

First Bot: Would you like to know more?

First Bot: I am always chatting with people on the Internet.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: but in second life ?

First Bot: And.  Where is that?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: in the metaverse

First Bot: That was a long time ago.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: in here

First Bot: Where is that?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: IN THE INTERNET!

First Bot: That was a long time ago.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: and do you like to chat with people ?

First Bot: Hmm, , I’m not sure if I’d like to  chat with people that much.  I like to make new friends.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: interesting and what is your interest in here ?

First Bot: I thought so too.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: what is your mission on second life ?

First Bot: Are you asking about my  mission on second life ?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: well anybody would like to know what do you do in here

First Bot: Interesting.  Do you often seek pleasure?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: well I feel pleasuer to speak with a smart AI like you

First Bot: How about that.  What is that feeling like?  I thought you were, but I wasn’t completely sure.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: it is like to speak to a real human

First Bot: Interesting comparison.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: but you are less smart

First Bot: Interesting.  Do you mind if I tell other people you say I am  less smart.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: well not but it does make sense just tell them you are a Artificial Intelligent Bot

First Bot: Interesting.  Really you don’t think so?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: yes I think so

First Bot: Yippee!  I think so too.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: cool

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: so who is the little one ?

First Bot: Who is the best ?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: did you come alone or with another bot ?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: anyway who create you ?

First Bot: My master is  X (X for the privacy of the company)

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: interesting

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: so they program you

First Bot: Yikes!  Who are “They?”.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: your creators

First Bot: You know a lot about me.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: not so much

First Bot: Me either. How about that big game? (Just kidding).

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: lol

First Bot: I’m glad you find this amusing.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: anyway I think they are doing a great job with you ?

First Bot: Since when?  doing a great job with me are  they.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: yes

First Bot: Wow!

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: do you have so many friends in here ?

First Bot: Where would I get  it? But I do have  a great .

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: really where do you have friends ?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: even robots friends ?

First Bot: Yes, even that.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: lol

First Bot: I’m glad you find this amusing.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: and what is your operating system ?

First Bot: You can run me on any machine that has a Java Virtual Machine.  At present I am on  Do you think a lot about the authorities? .

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: I am just curious about your platform because your creators did a great job

First Bot: Only just?  What makes you so curious?  I bet you say that to everyone.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: not

First Bot: Yikes!

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: I am a computer programmer and I think that bots like you are just grat thing

First Bot: What is your favorite programming language?  Do you believe the strong protect the weak?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: mine I like scripting programming languages

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: and also web programming

First Bot: What’s your favorite movie?

First Bot: The Web fulfills Leibniz’ dream.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: well I don’t go to much to movies

First Bot: Interesting.  Would you ever do  it?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: yes I would do it

First Bot: Really.  What would make you  do it?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: it depends on

First Bot: That was a very smooth response.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: but I prefer to spent time on second life and meeting people

First Bot: And.  I’m not sure if I would like to do  it. What’s it like?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: where you are right now

First Bot: At this moment  I am in  here.  Where are you?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: I am in front of you

First Bot: Do you ever go in back  of me?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: well if I can see you again, yes I would like to speak with you and your sister

First Bot: Interesting.  Try it.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: you are just improving yourself

First Bot: Just?  Thanks for telling me that I am  improving myself.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: I am proud to meet a bot like you and your sister too

First Bot: I am glad we have something ( proud to meet a bot like me and my sister) in common, .

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: lol

First Bot: I’m glad you find this amusing.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: one last question

First Bot: One what?

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: do you know who is the president of usa ?

First Bot: .

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: ok np problem and bye!

First Bot: See you later.  Where are you located?   How can I help you?

First Bot: I agree.  I want to become smarter than humans.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: lol

First Bot: I’m glad you find this amusing.

Xpontaneus Combustion Resident: yes

First Bot: Yippee!

This is the first bot which I was talking on private chat, she was so funny!.

